Top 10 Legendary Cricketers Who Never Won A World Cup: These 10 cricketers were unfortunate not to win the special trophy. Cricket is a game full of surprises and has seen many great players make records. These players, with their amazing skills and love for the game, have made a big impact.

Many fans around the world love these top players, but some of them didn’t win a World Cup in their successful careers. As we look forward to the 2023 World Cup in India, we explore the stories of some of the top cricket players and how luck didn’t allow them to join the special group of World Cup winners.

Let’s delve into the complete details on Top 10 Great Cricketers Who Never Won A World Cup. Also read Most Runs Conceded in an Innings in ODI World Cup.

Top 10 Great Cricketers Who Never Won A World Cup

Top 10 Legendary Cricketers Who Never Won A World Cup

Winning the World Cup is the biggest dream for every cricketer. This special chance lets you be part of history, and people will remember it as long as cricket is played. If you win the World Cup, it’s a very special honor.

When we talk about the journey to win the World Cup, the game has shown us that it can change a player’s career and bring a country together. From the 12 times the tournament has been played, it’s clear that even the best players can miss out on winning the World Cup.

Chris Gayle

West Indies batsman Chris Gayle was powerful in World Cups, just like in his entire international career. He scored more than 10,000 runs but didn’t win a World Cup, even though he played in five tournaments from 2003 to 2019. However, Gayle can feel good about winning two T20 World Cups, something not many players have done.

Lasith Malinga

Sri Lankan fast bowler Lasith Malinga took almost two wickets every game, a record even better than top World Cup wicket-takers Glenn McGrath and Muthiah Muralidaran.

Malinga played in four World Cups from 2007 to 2019, and got 56 wickets in 28 games, with a better average and strike-rate than his whole One Day International (ODI) career. He almost won the title in 2007 and 2011, but a wicketkeeper from the other team played really well and won the game.

Jacques Kallis

South African all-rounder Jacques Kallis might have been the most unlucky cricketer in the World Cup. He played for his country in five tournaments from 1996 to 2011, and gave his best, whether batting or bowling.

Kallis, a veteran for South Africa, scored 1,148 runs with an average close to 46 and took 21 wickets for his team. But even with his strong efforts, South Africa couldn’t handle the pressure and lost in important World Cup games.

Anil Kumble

Anil Kumble, one of cricket’s best spinners, didn’t win a World Cup with the Indian team between 1996 and 2007 before retiring a year later. In his first tournament in 1996, he was the highest wicket-taker with 15 wickets. The legendary spinner got 31 World Cup wickets in total, which were part of his 337 wickets in One Day Internationals (ODIs).

Rahul Dravid

Rahul Dravid scored 860 runs over three World Cups, with 461 runs in his first one in 1999. He still has one of the best averages (61.42) among all World Cup players who have scored more than 500 runs. Dravid almost won the big trophy in 2003, but in the next World Cup in 2007, he led the Indian team to one of their worst performances.

Kumar Sangakkara

Kumar Sangakkara, who has the second-highest runs in ODIs and third-highest in World Cup matches, never won the trophy in his four tries. He played in two World Cup finals (2007 and 2011) and a semi-final (2003), but Ricky Ponting’s strong performances stopped him from winning twice (2003 and 2007). Sangakkara scored 1,532 runs in 35 World Cup innings, with an average of nearly 57, which is higher than his overall ODI average of 42.

Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar Dhawan played in only 10 World Cup games for Team India in 2015 and 2019, showing his powerful batting in each one. He hit three big centuries that helped win matches, against South Africa, Ireland, and the then-champions Australia in 2019. Even though he is 37 and hasn’t retired from international cricket, his World Cup journey might be over since he wasn’t picked for India’s 2023 squad.

Brian Lara

Brian Lara is often compared to Sachin Tendulkar when it comes to batting success and international awards. But while Tendulkar played in six World Cups and won in his last one, Lara ended his West Indies career after playing in five tournaments, the last in 2007.

Still, Lara finished as one of the greatest batsmen in World Cup history, with his 1,225 runs being the fourth-highest, behind only Tendulkar, Ricky Ponting, and Kumar Sangakkara.

Sourav Ganguly

Sourav Ganguly, one of only 15 players worldwide with more than 10,000 ODI runs, didn’t win a World Cup during his impressive 15-year career with Team India.

He even came very close to winning, but his team lost to a strong Australian team in the 2003 World Cup in South Africa. Ganguly is also one of the few players to have scored over 1,000 runs in World Cup matches, marking him as one of the greats in the most important cricket tournament.

AB de Villiers

South African cricket star, AB de Villiers, has the highest batting average (63.52) in World Cup games among all players with more than 1,000 runs. He first played for his country in the World Cup in 2007, played again in 2011, and was the team leader in 2015.

In his three tries at the World Cup, South Africa didn’t make it past the semi-finals twice (2007 and 2015) and once at the quarter-final (2011). Still, de Villiers is one of the best batters in World Cup history, with the fifth-highest number of runs in the tournament.

Similar Posts