Indian captain Rohit Sharma smashed the fastest fifty of the T20 World Cup 2024 in the Super 8 clash against Australia on June 22 at St Lucia.

Australia will face India in the 51st match of the T20 World Cup 2024 on June 25 at Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium. India remains unbeaten in the ongoing edition, having secured two out of two wins in the Super 8s.

A third win for India would significantly threaten Australia’s semi-final chances, especially after their unexpected defeat against Afghanistan at St Vincent. If Australia loses to India, they will need to closely monitor the match between Afghanistan and Bangladesh to keep their semi-final hopes alive.

Australia faces a must-win situation against India, having won one out of two matches in the Super 8 stage. They defeated Bangladesh but lost to Afghanistan in Saturday’s clash.

Fastest Fifty of T20 World Cup 2024
Rohit Sharma hits the fastest fifty of T20 World Cup 2024

IND vs AUS: Rohit Sharma hits 19-ball fifty

In the match, Australia won the toss and chose to bowl. Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli opened the innings while Mitchell Starc started the bowling attack. Virat Kohli was dismissed for a five-ball duck on the fourth ball of the second over by Josh Hazlewood.

Rohit Sharma, on the other hand, smashed the fastest fifty of the tournament in just 19 deliveries. After Kohli’s dismissal, Rishabh Pant joined Rohit Sharma, and together they put up 60 runs in the powerplay.

Rishabh Pant scored 15 runs before being dismissed by Marcus Stoinis on the last ball of the eighth over. By the end of 10 overs, India had scored 114 runs for the loss of two wickets.

Rohit Sharma scored 92 runs off 40 deliveries, including 7 fours and 8 sixes. In the 12th over, Mitchell Starc dismissed Rohit Sharma with a yorker-length delivery from around the wicket.

Fastest Fifties by Indians in T20 World Cup

  • Yuvraj Singh – 12 balls – India vs England – 2007
  • KL Rahul – 18 balls – India vs Scotland, 2021
  • Rohit Sharma – 19 balls – India vs Australia, 2024
  • Yuvraj Singh – 20 balls – India vs Australia, 2007
  • Suryakumar Yadav – 23 balls – India vs Zimbabwe, 2022

Similar Posts