ODI World Cup 2023 Rules: India is set to host the 13th edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup from October 5 to November 19. In this 2023 World Cup showdown, 10 teams will vie for the prestigious trophy. During the group stage, every team will face the other nine teams once, culminating in 45 gripping group matches.

The inaugural tournament in 1975 saw West Indies clinch the title by overcoming Australia with a 17-run lead in a 60-over clash. Meanwhile, England secured their victory against New Zealand in the 2019 World Cup final, taking home the trophy from the previous edition.

In this article, we explain the World Cup 2023 Rules, Format for Group Stage, Knockout, And Final Matches.

ODI World Cup 2023 Rules

ODI World Cup 2023 Details

According to the ODI World Cup 2023 Schedule, England will face New Zealand in the opening match on October 5 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

TournamentICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023
DateOctober 5 – November 19
Cricket FormatOne Day International
Tournament formatSingle round-robin and Knockout
Latest Edition2019
Current ChampionsEngland

ODI World Cup 2023 Rules

The 2023 Cricket World Cup edition, similar to the previous one, will feature ten teams battling it out. Over the last three years, teams have competed in a qualification phase to secure their spots for this tournament.

The cricket ODI World Cup 2023 introduces a set of distinct rules different from other cricket formats. Dive into the World Cup 2023 Rules detailed below:

During World Cup 2023, each match will consist of two sessions, each lasting 3.5 hours, with a 45-minute interval in between. Captains will announce their playing 11 immediately after the toss. A bowler can deliver a maximum of 10 overs, adjusting for rain-affected matches, ensuring no bowler bowls more than 20% of the total overs in an innings. Fielding Limitations and Powerplays:

  • For the initial 10 overs (the mandatory powerplay), the fielding side can place only two players outside the 30-yard circle, promoting an aggressive field setup.
  • From the 11th to the 40th over, four players can field outside this circle, allowing for both aggressive and standard field configurations.
  • During the concluding 10 overs, the fielding captain can position up to five players beyond the circle.
  • All three field setups – aggressive, defensive, and standard – are permissible during the third powerplay. You can identify the powerplays on contemporary scorecards as P1, P2, and P3. If both teams finish with an identical score, with the second team either losing all its wickets or completing its overs, the match will be deemed a tie, irrespective of wickets lost by any side.
  • For tied knockout and final matches, teams will contest in a super over. Adverse weather conditions may lead match officials to pause games for prolonged durations. Semi-finals and finals have a designated reserve day. However, if matches without reserve days are affected, the DLS method will be employed to crown the winner.

Cricket World Cup 2023 Rules for Knockout Stage (Pakistan and India)

Should Pakistan reach the semi-finals, they’ll compete in Kolkata. On the other hand, if India makes it to the semi-finals, their match will take place in Mumbai. However, if their opponent is Pakistan, the face-off will shift to Kolkata.

World Cup 2023 Rules for Qualifier Round

The Cricket World Cup table’s top seven teams, together with India, who have an automatic spot as the hosts, will secure their positions directly in the tournament. The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2023 will determine the remaining two spots, awarding them to its top two teams.

These 10 participating teams will split into two groups, each containing 5 teams. Within these groups, every team will face each other once. The best three teams from both groups will advance to the Super Six round. In contrast, the two teams ranking last in both groups will compete in the playoff round, aiming for 7th to 10th positions.

The climax of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2023 will see the Super Six’s top 2 teams vying for the championship. Both finalists will also earn their tickets to the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 hosted in India.

The ICC has announced that every match in the qualifier will carry ODI status. Furthermore, the DRS system will debut in the Cricket World Cup Qualifier, with its application beginning from the Super Six stage and continuing thereafter.

ODI World Cup 2023 Rules for Super Six Round

Should the West Indies secure their spot, they’ll hold the Q1 designation, regardless of their standing in the Qualifiers. Similarly, if Sri Lanka makes the cut, they’ll be labeled as Q2, no matter their final position in the Qualifiers.

2023 World Cup Rules for Group Stage

  • Ten teams will battle for the prestigious trophy.
  • The format same as the 2019 edition held in England and Wales, featuring a single round-robin stage leading into the knockouts.
  • In this round-robin phase, every team will face the other nine teams once.
  • Teams will pocket two points for each victory, and if a match yields no result, both sides will split and receive one point.
  • There are no reserve days for group matches.

World Cup 2023 Rules for Knockout Stage

  • The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 points table’s leading four teams will proceed to the tournament’s semi-finals.
  • The 1st and 4th ranked teams will clash in Semi-final 1, while the 2nd and 3rd ranked teams will face off in Semi-final 2.
  • The winner of Semi-finals 1 and 2 will contend in the grand FINAL.
  • This climactic match of the ODI World Cup 2023 is set for November 13 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.
World Cup 2023 Rules for Semi Final

Similar Posts