Most Wickets in IPL 2024: The IPL stands as the top cricket league worldwide. It is also recognized as the TATA IPL and is an annual men’s Twenty20 (T20) cricket event in India. It involves ten franchise teams based in different cities. The IPL 2024 is scheduled for March 31, 2024, and was held at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, where the Chennai Super Kings emerged as the champions of the 2023 season by defeating the Gujarat Titans in the final.

Most Wickets in IPL 2024

Most Wickets in IPL 2024

The bowlers in the Indian Premier League (IPL) compete for the prestigious Purple Cap award. This award is given to the bowler who takes the most wickets during a specific season of the prominent IPL tournament. Let’s delve into the IPL 2024 Most Wickets, Who is the highest wicket-taker in IPL 2024?

IPL 2024 Top Wicket Takers

Most Wickets in IPL 2024: Certainly! You can rely on this page for the most recent updates on the Purple Cap winner in the IPL 2024. As soon as the matches conclude, the current statistics and the latest recipient of the Purple Cap will be promptly updated here. Don’t forget to bookmark this page and stay tuned for all the latest IPL updates!

1Mohammed ShamiGT2817654/1139018.648.035222
2Mohit SharmaGT271444.15/1026513.378.1736121
3Rashid KhanGT2717674/3040220.448.245521
4Piyush ChawlaMI2216613/2236622.58.11495
5Yuzvendra ChahalRR211452.54/1731720.578.184323
6Tushar DeshpandeCSK211656.53/4534126.869.92564
7Ravindra JadejaCSK2016573/2034221.557.56431
8Varun ChakravarthyKKR201452.44/1531621.458.154291
9Mohammed SirajRCB1914504/2130019.747.53751
10Matheesha PathiranaCSK191246.23/1527819.538.01371
11Arshdeep SinghPBKS171450.54/29305299.74931
12Ravi BishnoiLSG161550.33/2830324.447.74391
13Noor AhmadGT161347.13/3728323.067.82369
14Bhuvneshwar KumarSRH1614515/3030626.568.334251
15Ravichandran AshwinRR1413492/2329426.297.51368

IPL Purple Cap Trivia

Sohail Tanvir earned the initial Purple Cap by claiming 21 wickets in 11 matches during the 2008 season. Dwayne Bravo presently holds the record for the highest number of wickets in a single season, with 32 wickets in the 2015 season. Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the sole bowler to have secured the Purple Cap in consecutive IPL seasons, in 2016 and 2017.

Rules for IPL Purple Cap

The Purple Cap goes to the player who takes the most wickets in the IPL season. The player with the highest number of wickets gets to wear the Purple Cap during matches. In case of a tie, the bowler with a better economy rate is awarded the Purple Cap.

List of All IPL Purple Cap Winners

Sohail Tanvir claimed the first-ever Purple Cap in the 2008 IPL season, securing an impressive 22 wickets with an outstanding average of 12.09.

The initial Indian recipient of the Purple Cap was RP Singh, a former left-arm fast bowler, who took 23 wickets in the 2009 season with a strike rate of 15.50.

Dwayne Bravo and Bhuvneshwar Kumar are the only two players to have won the Purple Cap twice. Bravo achieved the feat in 2013 and 2015, while Kumar claimed the honor in 2016 and 2017.

Several other notable players, including Pragyan Ojha, Lasith Malinga, Morne Morkel, Mohit Sharma, Andrew Tye, Imran Tahir, Kagiso Rabada, Harshal Patel, and Yuzvendra Chahal, have also been recognized with the prestigious Purple Cap award in different seasons of the IPL.

During the 14th edition of the IPL, Harshal Patel from Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) secured the esteemed Purple Cap award by claiming an impressive 32 wickets in the 2021 season. This achievement allowed him to share the record for the most wickets in an IPL season with Dwayne Bravo, who accomplished the same feat in 2013.

In the IPL 2023, the fast bowler Mohammad Shami claimed the prestigious Purple Cap.

With the 2024 season already in progress, the competition for the IPL Orange Cap 2024 is heating up, as several prominent batters are striving to outperform one another.

YearPlayerTeamMatchesWicketsAverageEconomyStrike Rate4W5W
2008Sohail TanvirRajasthan Royals112212.096.461111
2009RP SinghDeccan Chargers162318.136.981610
2010Pragyan OjhaDeccan Chargers162120.427.291700
2011Lasith MalingaMumbai Indians162813.395.951401
2012Morne MorkelDelhi Daredevils162518.127.191510
2013Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings183215.537.951210
2014Mohit SharmaChennai Super Kings162319.658.391410
2015Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings172616.388.141200
2016Bhuvaneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad172321.37.421710
2017Bhuvaneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad142614.197.051201
2018Andrew TyeKings XI Punjab142418.6681430
2019Imran TahirChennai Super Kings172616.576.691520
2020Kagiso RabadaDelhi Capitals173018.268.341320
2021Harshal PatelRoyal Challengers Bangalore153214.348.1410.5611
2022Yuzvendra ChahalRajasthan Royals172719.517.7515.110


Who is the Current Purple Cap Holder in IPL 2024?

Mohammed Shami holds the 2024 IPL Purple Cap with 28 wickets in 17 matches.

Similar Posts