Most Runs in IPL History: The 17th Indian Premier League (IPL) will begin on March 31, 2024, with a match between the defending champions, Gujarat Titans (GT), and the four-time champions, Chennai Super Kings (CSK), at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. This league has become widely known as one of the most loved tournaments in international cricket. Throughout IPL’s history, certain batters have showcased their exceptional skills through consistent performances over the years.

Some batters in the IPL have proven that they are cut above the rest by consistently performing over the years. In this article we will discuss about Leading run-scorers in IPL History.

Leading run-scorers in IPL History

Top 5 Batters with Most Runs in IPL History

Discover the top 5 batters with the most runs in IPL history. Explore their remarkable contributions and batting prowess in the league.

Virat Kohli IPL Runs

Virat Kohli, the former Indian skipper who led the Bangalore franchise from 2013 to 2021, is the highest run-getter in the IPL, with 7263 runs in 229 innings at an average of 37.24 and a strike rate of 130.02. He has also scored the most centuries in the league, with 7, including 4 in the 2016 season.

Shikhar Dhawan IPL Runs

Shikhar Dhawan, India’s ODI opener, is the second-most successful batter in IPL history, with 6,617 runs at an average of 35.38 and a strike rate of 127.17. He has been crucial for the Delhi Capitals in the past two-three seasons, and he also made significant contributions while opening for Sunrisers Hyderabad alongside David Warner.

David Warner IPL Runs

David Warner, the former captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad, is the overseas player with the most runs in the IPL, and third overall. He surpassed Rohit Sharma’s tally of 5879 runs in the 2022 edition and has now amassed 6397 runs in 176 innings at an average of 41.53 and a strike rate of 139.91.

David Warner has smashed 4 centuries and 61 half-centuries in the IPL so far. He had a poor start to the last IPL and was even dropped from the playing XI, but he was bought by his former franchise Delhi Capitals for INR 6.25 crores in the mega auction. Warner is known for his batting prowess and has won the IPL Orange Cap in three different seasons: 2015, 2017, and 2019.

Rohit Sharma IPL Runs

Rohit Sharma, a five-time IPL-winning captain, is also a prolific batsman. He has scored 6,211 runs in 238 IPL innings at an average of 29.57 and a strike rate of 130.04, the fourth-most in IPL history. This includes one century and 42 half-centuries, with a highest score of 109. He has been opening for Mumbai Indians since 2019 and is expected to do the same this year.

Suresh Raina IPL Runs

Suresh Raina, fondly called “Mr. IPL,” has justified his nickname with his outstanding performances since the tournament’s inception. He is the fourth-highest run-getter in the IPL, with 5,528 runs in 200 innings at an average of 32.51 and a strike rate of 136.73. Despite his impressive record, he went unsold in the mega auction of IPL 2022 after CSK decided not to retain him.

List of Most IPL Runs by Batters

Here is the Top Run Scorer in IPL History List:

Virat Kohli229726337.24130.02750
Shikhar Dhawan216661735.38127.17250
David Warner176639741.53139.91461
Rohit Sharma238621129.57130.04142
Suresh Raina200552832.51136.73139


Who scored most runs in IPL history?

Virat Kohli is the leading run-scorer in the IPL, while Yuzvendra Chahal is the leading wicket-taker. Kohli, the former Indian captain, also holds the record for most centuries in the league, with seven.

Who is the best scorer in IPL 2023?

Shubman Gill, one of India’s most promising batsmen, topped the list of most runs in IPL 2023, scoring 890 runs in 17 matches at an average of 59.33 and a strike rate of 157.80.

Similar Posts