List of 10 Wicket wins in ODI Finals: On September 17, India squared off against Sri Lanka in the Asia Cup 2023 finals at R. Premadasa Stadium and clinched a dominant 10-wicket win. The Asia Cup 2023 face-off between India and Sri Lanka now features among the memorable 10-wicket victories in ODI Finals.

List Of Records Broken In Asia Cup 2023 Final

List of 10 Wicket wins in ODI Finals

After winning the toss in the Asia Cup 2023, Sri Lanka chose to bat but faced a fiery Indian bowling attack. Their struggles resulted in a total of just 50 runs, losing all wickets.

Meanwhile, Indian openers forged a fifty-one-run partnership, leading India to a breezy victory. Mohammed Siraj earned the “Player of the Match” accolade, and Kuldeep Yadav took home the “Player of the Series” title.

For Sri Lanka, Pathum Nissanka and Kusal Perera began the batting, with Jasprit Bumrah spearheading India’s attack. Bumrah ousted Nissanka at 2 runs, while Siraj dismissed Kusal Perera for a duck and Kusal Mendis at 17 runs. Sri Lanka’s woes deepened when Dhananjaya de Silva departed at four, leaving the team at 12/5 in the fourth over.

The remaining Sri Lankan batters faced relentless pressure from India’s bowlers. Siraj sent back 6 batsmen, and Hardik Pandya claimed three wickets. Sri Lanka’s inning closed at 50 runs by the second ball of the 16th over.

Responding, openers Ishan Kishan and Shubman Gill took the stage against Sri Lanka’s bowler, Pramod Madushan. Kishan smashed 23 off 18 balls, including three boundaries, while Gill racked up 27 from 19 deliveries with six boundaries. India raced to their 51-run target on the 7th over’s first ball, celebrating a comprehensive 10-wicket win.

This triumph marked one of India’s most dominant ODI victories, finishing their chase with a whopping 263 balls to spare. This feat ranks third in 10-wicket victories in ODI finals.

List Of Records Broken In Asia Cup 2023 Final

Let’s delve into the significant records broken during the Asia Cup 2023 final between India and Sri Lanka.

  • India secured its eighth Asia Cup ODI title, fortifying its position with the most wins.
  • Mohammed Siraj matched Chaminda Vaas’s record for the quickest five-wicket ODI haul, achieving it in just 16 balls against Bangladesh in 2003.
  • Siraj emerged as the second-fastest to notch up 50 ODI wickets, completing it in 1002 balls, only behind Sri Lanka’s Ajantha Mendis.
  • With an ODI six-wicket haul, Siraj joined the elite list of 11 Indian bowlers.
  • His impressive 6/21 stands as the fourth-best by an Indian and occupies the 31st spot globally in ODI cricket.
  • Remarkably, Siraj became the first Indian and the fourth globally to claim four wickets in a single ODI over.
  • Posting a mere 50 in 15.2 overs, Sri Lanka set the record for the lowest total in Asia Cup ODIs.
  • This score of 50 also ranks as Sri Lanka’s second-worst and the tenth overall in ODI history.
  • India celebrated its most dominant chase in terms of balls remaining in ODIs, finishing the game with 263 balls left.
  • Completing the chase in just 6.1 overs, India’s effort stands as the fifth-quickest in ODI history.
  • India further cemented its record by achieving its 98th win against Sri Lanka, the most ODI wins against a single opponent.
  • Rohit Sharma joined the ranks of MS Dhoni and Mohammed Azharuddin as the third Indian captain to clinch two ODI Asia Cup titles.
  • Batting first and getting all out, Sri Lanka faced one of the shortest innings, playing only 15.2 overs, marking the second-lowest in ODI history.

10 Wicket wins in ODI Finals

For reference, the top position belongs to the Coca-Cola Champions Trophy final in 1998 between India and Zimbabwe, where India posted 197 runs. The 2003 VB series match between Australia and England in Sydney, where Australia notched 118 runs, sits in the second spot.

  • 197/0 Ind vs Zim Sharjah 1998
  • 118/0 Aus vs Eng Sydney 2003
  • 51/0 Ind vs SL Colombo RPS 2023 *

Similar Posts