ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Commentary Panel: The opening match of the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 will feature a clash between former champions England and New Zealand. The ICC has unveiled a star-studded commentary panel for this prestigious event, comprising some of the game’s most illustrious figures, spanning both past and present eras.

This distinguished panel, which boasts experts in the field, is part of the ICC’s comprehensive announcements for the ODI World Cup 2023. These announcements encompass the tournament schedule, a list of broadcast channels, information about live streaming platforms, details about umpires, and the roster of esteemed commentators who will be providing insights and analysis throughout the tournament.

List of Commentators in ODI World Cup 2023

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Commentary Panel

Commentators play a pivotal role in any sports event, and in cricket, they are among the key components. Many of these commentators are former cricketers themselves, possessing a profound understanding of the game. They generously share their experiences, insights, and strategic analyses with the audience, enriching the viewing experience with every ball bowled.

What sets certain commentators apart is their ability to craft memorable lines that resonate with fans, becoming iconic moments in cricketing history. One such moment etched in the memories of Indian cricket enthusiasts is Ravi Shastri’s commentary during Rohit Sharma’s double century against Australia in 2013.

Ravi Shastri’s Commentary During Rohit Sharma’s 200

” What a way to bring up two hundred in one day international they call him hitman and he has arrived at the party”.

Similarly, Pakistani fans hold a special place in their hearts for English commentator Nasir Hussain’s commentary during Mohammad Amir’s spell against India in the Champions Trophy. In a critical moment, Azhar Ali dropped Virat Kohli’s catch off Amir’s delivery, only for Shadab Khan to redeem the situation by taking the catch on the very next ball. Nasir Hussain’s words during this crucial sequence were:

Nasir Hussain’s commentary during Mohammad Amir’s spell against India

” Pakistan Cricket at it best one minute down next minute up.”

List of Commentators in ODI World Cup 2023

Typically, the ICC assembles a team of 25 to 30 commentators for major events. In the 2019 ODI World Cup, a total of 24 commentators were enlisted, while the 2022 T20 World Cup featured a panel of 29 members.

For the upcoming ODI World Cup in 2023, it is anticipated that a larger contingent of 35 commentators will be brought on board to provide coverage and analysis. Stay tuned for the official announcement of the list of commentators for the ODI World Cup 2023, which promises to feature an array of seasoned voices and cricketing experts.

Adam GilchristAustralia
Athar Ali KhanBangladesh
Bazid KhanPakistan
Brian MurgatroydNetherlands
Dale SteynSouth Africa
Danny MorrisonNew Zealand
Dirk NannesDutch
Eoin MorganEngland
Graeme SmithSouth Africa
Harsha BhogleIndia
Ian BishopWest Indies
Ian SmithNew Zealand
Kumar SangakkaraSri Lanka
Mark HowardAustralia
Michael AthertonEngland
Michael ClarkeAustralia
Michael HoldingWest Indies
Nasser HussainEngland
Niall O’BrienIreland
Ramiz RajaPakistan
Ravi ShastriIndia
Sanjay ManjrekarIndia
Shane WatsonAustralia
Shaun PollockSouth Africa
Simon DoullNew Zealand
Sourav GangulyIndia
Sunil GavaskarIndia
Wasim AkramPakistan

Who are the Commentators for ODI World Cup 2023?

The official announcement of commentators for the ICC World Cup 2023 has not been made by the ICC yet. The expectation is that this announcement will be forthcoming after September 15, 2023.

Nevertheless, it is widely anticipated that the final panel of commentators for the ODI World Cup will feature several prominent figures, including Nasir Hussain from England, Harsha Bhogle from India, Ian Bishop from the West Indies, Simon Doull from New Zealand, Bazid Khan from Pakistan, and Ricky Ponting from Australia. These seasoned voices are likely to provide expert analysis and insights during the tournament.

List of Commentators in Cricket World Cup 2023

It’s important to note that this list is speculative and does not reflect the official lineup for the ODI World Cup 2023. The ICC will release the official list of commentators as the event draws nearer. Stay tuned for the confirmed details as we get closer to the tournament.

Star Sports Hindi Commentators for ODI WC 2023

Star Sports delivers cricket match coverage in the national language, Hindi. India, with a population exceeding 1.4 billion, stands as the world’s most populous country. While many Indians may not have a strong command of the English language, their passion for cricket knows no bounds.

Consequently, Star Sports recognizes the importance of providing cricket match coverage with Hindi commentators to cater to the diverse linguistic preferences of its vast audience. Here’s a glimpse of the Hindi commentators who are likely to be part of the ODI World Cup 2023 coverage:

  • Harbhajan Singh
  • Vivek Razdan
  • Sourav Ganguly
  • Ashish Nehra
  • Deep Dasgupta
  • S. Sreesanth
  • Jatin Sapru
  • Saba Karim
  • Ajay Jadeja
  • Mohammad Kaif.

Female Presenters in ODI World Cup 2023

Over the past few years, franchise cricket leagues, such as the IPL, PSL, BBL, CPL, and others, have actively promoted female commentators. Their inclusion has garnered significant appreciation and a positive response from fans. It’s worth noting that this support extends beyond female cricket enthusiasts, as many male users on platforms like Twitter have also expressed their praise for female commentators.

In light of this encouraging feedback, the ICC took a progressive step by featuring five female commentators in the 2019 World Cup. This move was well-received, and it is likely that we will witness the presence of even more female commentators in the upcoming ODI World Cup. Below, we provide a glimpse of the female presenters anticipated to be part of this year’s ODI World Cup coverage:

  • Isa Guha (India)
  • Mel Jones (Australia)
  • Charlotte Edwards (England)
  • Anjum Chopra (India)
  • Zainab Abbas (Pakistan)
  • Alison Mitchell (England)
  • Urooj Mumtaz (Pakistan)

Who are the commentary panel for World Cup 2023?

All the commentators at the ICC Men’s ODI Cricket World Cup 2023: Adam Gilchrist, Athar Ali Khan, Bazid Khan, Brian Murgatroyd, Dale Steyn, Danny Morrison, Dirk Nannes, Eoin Morgan, Graeme Smith, Harsha Bhogle, Ian Bishop, Ian Smith, Kumar Sangakkara, Mark Howard, Michael Atherton, Michael Clarke, Michael Holding, Nasser Hussain, Niall O’Brien, Ramiz Raja, Ravi Shastri, Sanjay Manjrekar, Shane Watson, Shaun Pollock, Simon Doull, Sourav Ganguly, Sunil Gavaskar, Wasim Akram.

Similar Posts