Highest Run Chase in IPL History: The IPL has witnessed some of the most thrilling matches ever, including the highest successful run chase in Indian Premier League history. The IPL is a festival of cricket where the world’s finest hitters, bowlers, all-rounders, and emerging stars come together to compete in the most spectacular league in the world.

In this blog, we have ranked the top 20 highest successful run chases in IPL and explained the top 5 highest total chased matches in IPL history.

Highest Run Chases in the IPL

Top 5 Highest Run Chase in IPL History

The first-ever IPL champions, Rajasthan Royals, have the record for the highest run chase against Punjab Kings in IPL history. Rajasthan Royals always live up to their team motto “Never give up without a fight” when it comes to chasing runs.

RR have shown that they are the best run-chaser team in IPL history over the years. Since the start of IPL, Rajasthan squad has been on top of the highest run chase in the Indian Premier League.

Rajasthan Royals have achieved the highest run chase twice out of the top five successful run chases in the IPL. Below we have ranked the top five IPL matches with the record of the highest total chased in IPL.

RR vs PBKS IPL 2020

The Rajasthan Royals batsmen stunned the Punjab Kings bowlers and pulled off the highest run chase in the IPL in 2020. It seemed like a lost cause for RR after Punjab Kings batsman Mayank Agrawal smashed a hundred and scored 106 runs off 50 balls and captain KL Rahul added 69 runs, setting a huge target of 223 runs.

But the Rajasthan Royals batsmen, led by skipper Steve Smith (50), Sanju Samson (85), and Rahul Tewatioa (53), rose to the occasion and helped the team to reach the target. We also have to mention Tom Curran (Sam Curran’s younger brother) and Jofra Archer’s brilliant performance in the final over. The RR scored a total of 226/6 runs and beat the Punjab Kings at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

MI vs CSK IPL 2021

The Mumbai Indians pulled off the second-highest IPL run chase against the Chennai Super Kings in the IPL 2021. The CSK vs MI match has always been a thrilling encounter in the IPL tournament. Both MI and CSK have won the IPL trophy five times and have had some of the best run-chasing matches in the tournament.

The Mumbai Indians achieved the highest run chase of the 2021 IPL season at the Arun Jaitley Stadium. The Chennai Super Kings batsmen Ambati Raidu scored a quick-fire 72 not out off 27 balls along with Moeen Ali (58) and Faf du Plessis (50) to set a massive target of 218 runs.

It seemed like a daunting task for MI to chase the target. But Kieron Pollard (87* runs in 34 balls), Quinton de Kock (38 runs), and Rohit Sharma (35) played brilliantly and led MI to a four-wicket victory over CSK.

RR vs Deccan Chargers IPL 2008

The Rajasthan Royals achieved their second-highest run chase against the Deccan Chargers (now defunct) in the IPL’s first season in 2008. Andrew Symonds blasted the RR’s bowlers and scored 117 runs off 53 balls with 11 fours and 7 sixes at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

The Rajasthan Royals responded with a superb team effort from Graeme Smith (71), Yusuf Pathan (61), Mohammad Kaif (34), and captain Shane Warne (22). The RR scored a total of 217/7 and clinched a thrilling win over the Deccan Chargers. The RR registered the 3rd highest successful run chase in IPL.

SRH vs RR IPL 2023

In the 2023 IPL season, Sunrisers Hyderabad pulled off the 4th highest successful run chase in IPL history by beating Rajasthan Royals at their home turf in Jaipur’s Sawai Mansingh Stadium. Rajasthan Royals had set a massive target of 214 runs, thanks to the brilliant knocks of Jos Buttler (95) and Sanju Samson (66).

However, the Sunrisers did not give up and chased down the score with 6 wickets in hand. Anmolpreet Singh (33), Abhishek Sharma (55), and Rahul Tripathi (47) were the main contributors for the Sunrisers’ victory.

MI vs PBKS IPL 2023

The Mumbai Indians have achieved another feat in the IPL by registering the highest run chase in the league. Many doubted their decision to bowl first as the Punjab Kings batsmen dominated the game with Liam Livingstone (82), Jitesh Sharma (49), and skipper Shikhar Dhawan (30) scoring big.

But the Mumbai Indians did not lose hope and overcame the loss of their captain Rohit Sharma for a duck. Ishan Kishan (75), Suryakumar Yadav (66) and Tilak Verma (26*) led the chase and reached 217 runs in 19 overs. The Mumbai Indians won the match by chasing down the 214-run target set by the Punjab Kings in the IPL 2023 at the Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali.

Highest Successful Run Chase in IPL

Rajasthan Royals hold the record for the highest run chase in the IPL, surprisingly. They achieved this feat in the 2020 IPL season, when they chased down 224 runs set by Kings XI Panjab (now Panjab Kings) and won by 4 wickets with 226 runs in 19.3 overs.

The Rajasthan franchise also has the dubious distinction of having the 2nd and third-lowest team scores in IPL history.

The second-highest run chase in the IPL belongs to Mumbai Indians, who scored 219 runs to beat CSK’s 218-run target in the 2021 IPL season. They won the match with 4 wickets in hand.

Rajasthan Royals also occupy the third spot in the highest run chase in the IPL. In the 2008 IPL season, they chased down 215 runs posted by Deccan Chargers (now defunct) and won by 7 wickets with 217 runs.

The fourth and fifth places in the highest run chase in the IPL are held by Sunrisers Hyderabad (217/6 against RR) and Mumbai Indians (216/4 against KXIP) respectively.

This is the list of the top 20 highest successful run chase records in the IPL history, from Rajasthan Royals to Chennai Super Kings:

No.IPL SeasonMatchTargetScoreWinner
1IPL 2020RR vs PBKS224226/6RR
2IPL 2021MI vs CSK219219/6MI
3IPL 2008RR vs Deccan Chargers215217/7RR
4IPL 2023SRH vs RR215217/6SRH
5IPL 2023MI vs PBKS215216/4MI
6IPL 2023MI vs RR213214/4MI
7IPL 2023LSG vs RCB213213/9LSG
8IPL 2022LSG vs CSK211211/4LSG
9IPL 2017DC vs GT209214/3DC
10IPL 2014PBKS vs SRH206211/4PBKS
11IPL 2012CSK vs RCB206208/5CSK
12IPL 2022PBKS vs RCB206208/5PBKS
13IPL 2018CSK vs RCB206207/5CSK
14IPL 2014PBKS vs CSK206206/4PBKS
15IPL 2019KKR vs RCB206206/5KKR
16IPL 2023KKR vs GT205207/7KKR
17IPL 2010RCB vs PBKS204204/2RCB
18IPL 2018CSK vs KKR203205/5CSK
19IPL 2010PBKS vs KKR201204/2PBKS
20IPL 2023MI vs SRH201201/2MI

Similar Posts