First 10 Hat-Tricks in the IPL History: The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a very entertaining cricket tournament. The best players from all over the world come to play in the IPL. Even though the IPL is known for its exciting batting, there have also been some bowlers who have dominated the batsmen with their skills.

Taking a hat-trick in cricket is like scoring a century. It is the best achievement for a bowler, and it is very rare to do it in a career. There have been many hat-tricks in the IPL’s 16 seasons. Some of them were very exciting to watch. Let’s delve into the complete details on Hat Tricks in IPL History.

List of All Hat-Tricks in the IPL History

List of All Hat-Tricks in the IPL History

Explore the comprehensive list of all hat-tricks in IPL history. Relive the thrilling moments and exceptional performances of these bowlers. Also read about Highest Wicket Taker in IPL in One Season.

Sunil Narine

Sunil Narine has played a major role in Kolkata Knight Riders winning two IPL trophies. He is considered to be one of the greatest IPL players of all time, and he has even taken a hat-trick against Kings XI Punjab. He dismissed David Hussey, Azhar Mahmood, and Gurkeerat Singh to complete the hat-trick.

Ajit Chandila

Ajit Chandila was the first uncapped bowler to take a hat-trick in the IPL. In 2012, he dismissed big names like Saurav Ganguly, Jesse Ryder, and Robin Utthapa while playing against Pune Warriors.

Amit Mishra

Amit Mishra is the King of IPL hat-tricks. He got his second IPL hat-trick against Punjab, dismissing R. McLaren, Mandeep Singh, and Australian pacer Ryan Harris. This was his second hat-trick in IPL history, making him the bowler with the most hat-tricks in the IPL.

Praveen Kumar

Praveen Kumar was a regular member of the Indian cricket team in 2008-11. In 2010, there was only one hat-trick in the IPL, and it was taken by Praveen Kumar himself. He achieved this feat against the Rajasthan Royals, who were bowled out for just 92 runs.

Yuvraj Singh

Yuvraj Singh is the second-most hat-trick taker in IPL history, one behind Amit Mishra. While playing against the Deccan Chargers, he took the wickets of Gibbs, Symonds, and V. Rao. Interestingly, this was Yuvraj’s second hat-trick in the same season.

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma, the current captain of the Indian cricket team and a legendary white-ball player, has also taken a hat-trick in the IPL. He used to bowl handy overs in the early days of his career, and in 2009, while playing against the Mumbai Indians, he dismissed Abhishek Nayar, Harbhajan Singh, and JP Duminy.

Yuvraj Singh

Yuvraj Singh is one of the best all-rounders India has ever produced. He was known for his hard-hitting batting and handy bowling. In a match against the Deccan Chargers, Yuvraj took the wickets of Robin Uthappa, Jacques Kallis, and Mark Boucher to claim his first-ever IPL hat-trick.

M Nitini

South African bowling legend M Nitini only played a few seasons in the IPL, but he still managed to take a hat-trick. He achieved this feat against the Kolkata Knight Riders, dismissing legendary batsman Saurav Ganguly, Debabrata Das, and David Hussey.

Amit Mishra

Amit Mishra is the second-highest wicket-taker in IPL history. He did not get many opportunities at the international level, but the IPL platform has given him a lot of recognition.

He has taken three hat-tricks in the IPL, more than any other bowler. His first hat-trick came against the Deccan Chargers, where he dismissed Ravi Teja, Pragyan Ojha, and RP Singh.

Laxmipati Balaji

Laxmipati Balaji represented India in all three formats of cricket. He started his IPL career with the Chennai Super Kings, three-time IPL champions, under the captaincy of MS Dhoni, the former Indian and current Chennai captain.

Balaji created history by taking the first hat-trick in IPL history against the Punjab Kings. The right-arm fast bowler dismissed Irfan Pathan, Piyush Chawla, and VRV Singh to complete the hat-trick.

List of Hat-Tricks in IPL History

Following are the Hat-tricks list in IPL History:

PlayerBowling FiguresAgainstYear
Lakshmipathy Balaji5/24KXIP2008
Amit Mishra5/17DEC2008
Makhaya Ntini4/21KKR2008
Yuvraj Singh3/22RCB2009
Rohit Sharma4/6MI2009
Yuvraj Singh3/13DEC2009
Praveen Kumar3/18RR2010
Amit Mishra4/9KXIP2011
Ajit Chandila4/13PWI2012
Sunil Narine3/33KXIP2013
Amit Mishra4/19PWI2013
Pravin Tambe3/26KKR2014
Shane Watson3/13SRH2014
Axar Patel4/21GL2016
Samuel Badree4/9MI2017
Andrew Tye5/17RPS2017
Jaydev Unadkat5/30SRH2017
Sam Curran4/11DC2019
Shreyas Gopal3/12RCB2019
Harshal Patel4/17RCB2021
Yuzvendra Chahal5/40KKR2022
Rashid Khan3-35KKR2023


Who was the first hat-trick bowler in IPL?

The first-ever IPL hat-trick was taken by Lakshmipathy Balaji for the Chennai Super Kings in the 2008 season. He took three wickets in the last over of the match against Kings XI Punjab, helping his team to win the match.

Who took more hat-trick in IPL?

As of November 2021, Amit Mishra from India is the leading hat-trick taker in the Indian Premier League with three hat-tricks, followed by Yuvraj Singh with two hat-tricks.

Who is the youngest hat-trick in IPL history?

Sam Curran became the youngest player to take a hat-trick in IPL history during the 2019 season.

Who took 3 tricks in IPL?

Amit Mishra holds the record for three hat-tricks in the IPL, achieved in the 2008, 2011, and 2013 seasons. He is the only player to have taken three hat-tricks in the IPL.

Who is the only RCB bowler to take a hat-trick?

Harshal Patel became the third Royal Challengers Bangalore bowler to take a hat-trick in the IPL, joining Praveen Kumar and Samuel Badree. The fast bowler took the hat-trick against the defending champions Mumbai Indians in Dubai on Sunday, November 7, 2021.

Similar Posts