Fastest Half Century in T20 World Cup: The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, set to take place in the West Indies and the USA immediately following the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024, has ignited a wave of excitement and anticipation. With 20 teams gearing up for fierce competition, this event marks a significant chapter in the history of cricket.

India made history by winning the first T20 World Cup in 2007, where Yuvraj Singh set an enduring record for the fastest fifty of the tournament. This achievement remains unbeaten, showcasing his exceptional talent.

T20 International (T20I) cricket has revolutionized the game by giving batters greater freedom to score runs. With fielding restrictions and shorter boundaries, batters often dominate, sending the ball to the boundary with ease. Get ready to explore the fastest fifties in T20 World Cup history, a testament to breathtaking batting and record-breaking performances.

fastest fifty in T20 World Cup history

Fastest Fifties in T20 World Cup History

The T20 World Cup has witnessed some incredible batting feats, where players have reached their fifties in record time. One of the most memorable performances is by former Indian all-rounder Yuvraj Singh. In the T20 World Cup 2007, Yuvraj hit England’s Stuart Broad for six sixes in a single over, scoring 58 runs off just 16 balls, thus setting the record for the fastest fifty in T20 World Cup history.

Fastest 50s in T20 World Cup

The ICC T20 World Cup is a stage where batsmen showcase their extraordinary skills, often treating bowlers with disdain as they chase large totals or set high scores. Among these remarkable displays, the quest for the fastest fifty stands out. These swift innings not only turn the tide of matches but also amaze fans with their power and precision.

Yuvraj Singh’s Unforgettable Blitz (2007)

In a dazzling display of power hitting, Yuvraj Singh scorched his way to a fifty off just 12 balls against England during the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007. Playing in Durban, he set the stage ablaze and secured his place in cricket history by smashing six consecutive sixes off Stuart Broad’s over. This extraordinary feat remains a highlight in cricket folklore.

Stephan Myburgh’s Explosive Knock (2014)

Dutch batter Stephan Myburgh demonstrated his immense hitting power in the 2014 T20 World Cup against Ireland at Sylhet, reaching a fifty in just 17 balls. His explosive innings shocked the opposition and showcased his ability to decimate bowling attacks with brute force.

Marcus Stoinis’ Power-Packed Performance (2022)

In a thrilling match against Sri Lanka during the 2022 T20 World Cup at Perth, Australian all-rounder Marcus Stoinis delivered a stunning fifty off only 17 balls. His powerful hitting overwhelmed the opposition, reinforcing his status as a formidable T20 player.

Glenn Maxwell’s Masterclass (2014)

Australian dynamo Glenn Maxwell made a grand entrance at the 2014 T20 World Cup with a remarkable fifty off 18 balls against Pakistan in Mirpur. Maxwell’s innings was a showcase of aggressive batting, as he effortlessly dispatched the bowlers to all corners of the ground.

KL Rahul’s Rapid Assault (2021)

Indian batter KL Rahul joined the elite ranks of players with the fastest fifties in T20 World Cup history with his performance against Scotland in 2021 at Dubai. Rahul’s fifty off 18 balls highlighted his ability to accelerate the scoring rate with effortless grace and precision.

Shoaib Malik’s Commanding Knock (2021)

Pakistani veteran Shoaib Malik added his name to the list of rapid fifties in the 2021 T20 World Cup at Sharjah. Malik’s innings against Scotland, reaching fifty in just 18 balls, underscored his value as a seasoned player capable of delivering under pressure.

List of Fastest 50 in T20 World Cup

PlayerBalls Taken To 50Final ScoreVSVenueYear
Yuvraj Singh (IND)1258 (16)EnglandDurban2007
Stephan Myburgh (NED)1763 (23)IrelandSylhet2014
Marcus Stoinis (AUS)1759* (18)Sri LankaPerth2022
Glenn Maxwell (AUS)1874 (33)PakistanMirpur2014
KL Rahul (IND)1850 (19)ScotlandDubai (DICS)2021
Shoaib Malik (PAK)1854 (18)ScotlandSharjah2021
Mohammad Ashraful (BAN)2061 (27)West IndiesJohannesburg2007
Yuvraj Singh (IND)2070 (30)AustraliaDurban2007
Shadab Khan (PAK)2052 (22)South AfricaSydney2022
Mahela Jayawardene (SL)2165 (27)KenyaJohannesburg2007

Similar Posts